top of page


Regional Progress / Regional Cooperation

The First Tennessee Development District was formed in 1966 as a result of legislation passed by the Tennessee General Assembly. The First Tennessee Development District is one of nine regional organizations in the state that carries out general and comprehensive planning and development activities for local governments. The mayors from the eight counties and twenty municipalities that comprise the District, as well as industrial and legislative representatives, serve on the board of directors and provide direction to the staff as they serve the region through planning, coordination and technical assistance.

Erwin Main Street.jpg

About the Development District

An association of local governments is committed to improving the quality of life in Northeast Tennessee. Addressing common problems and issues regarding economic development and regional growth is the primary goal of the First Tennessee Development District. This goal is accomplished through economic and community development, economic development financing, research and planning, environmental management initiatives, housing activities, human resource evaluation, assessment, and providing services to the elderly and disabled.


Our Partners

The FTDD works closely with economic development professionals across the region in addition to the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, the Economic Development Agency, USDA Rural Development, and the Appalachian Regional Commission. At the local level, the District is engaged in work with local economic development organizations such as NETWORKS Sullivan Partnership, Greeene County Partnership, and Washington County Economic Development Council. We also work closely with regional partners like Northeast Tennessee Tourism Association, Northeast Tennessee Workforce Board, and the Tennessee Valley Corridor. 

bottom of page